Time and Time Again

Well, well, well. It’s January again, and my home is in the throes of winter with teeth-chattering winds and little kids heading back to school bundled in mittens and scarves. I don’t head back to classes for another week or so, and I’m trying to spend my January (my least favorite month of the year) watching the NFL playoffs and trying to keep warm in multiple layers of socks and sweatpants.

I know I apologize just about every post about having so many days between each post, but my holidays were crazy, the way holidays should be. After parties and late nights wrapping, dentist appointments, and miscellaneous errands to be run, I’ve finally found some time to sit down and actually write. Well, okay, confession. I’ve watched almost four seasons of Grey’s Anatomy since Christmas, so I guess I could’ve written sooner, but the point is, here I am now, and I hope those of you reading had as happy a holiday season as I did.

One of the things that I feel like every inhabitant of the month of January is suffering through, besides the cold, is the idea of resolutions for the new year. We survived the Mayan apocalypse, we survived holidays with our in-laws, we survived the late drunken ball drop festivities. Will we survive our list of things to do, to see, to change, to learn?

At this point, 19 days into the new year of 2013, I don’t have much hope for myself. I have a list of 8 resolutions, several of which are nowhere near possible.

Get tan.

Own a piece from Tiffany’s.

Floss more. (yeah, yeah, yeah. Don’t lie, you suck at it too.)

I’m not quite sure if I’ll be able to reach any of these, nor have I reached many of my resolutions from past years. In fact, I’m not sure I’ve ever reached a resolution, unless it was a resolution like “graduate” or “live until next year,” in which case bravo to me.

But what’s interesting is that despite the fact that I seriously can never finish a single of my resolutions by December (which could be for lack of trying), I continue to make resolutions every year. We all do. It’s the idea of staring in the face of the new year boldly, emblazoned by the plans and ideas of all the things we hope to do, to learn, to become.

And we all fail. Time and time again, we will all fail to reach most if not all of our resolutions. Why do we put ourselves through this every year like clockwork?

I actually didn’t realize the answer until very recently. The part of us that wants to eat better, look better, be better…that’s the part of our soul that craves the One who is already perfect. He makes all things new, just like time renews itself every year, He renews us- but the best part is that we don’t have to wait for a whole year! We just ask and He gives us a fresh start. Confession to and acceptance of Him is like a ball drop whenever we want – except this ball drop has much better results.

Don’t worry, there’s nothing wrong with making resolutions. I hope dearly that you all meet those goals you have set for yourself as much as I hope I meet mine. But remember not to get too hung up on taking the year to renew your outside self, and remember to take the time to do a little refreshing inside, too.

Time and time again, we want to be new, and in the start of this blessed 2013, I send my best wishes to you who accomplish that.

Leave a reply - I want to hear from you!

